…and a few hours away from the laptop attending the ‘Wine and Crime’ event at Nairn Book and Arts Festival – hey, it’s still work!

Three really interesting speakers – Lisa Ballantyne, writer of ‘The Guilty One’ and ‘Redemption Road’, eminent forensic pathologist Professor James H K Grieve and the incomparable Denise Mina.  It was a privilege to listen to accomplished writers like Lisa and Denise, and Professor Grieve’s talk on forensic pathology was gruesome and fascinating in equal measure (and yes, I did pick up on some tweaks I need to make in the novel!)

I hadn’t read either of Lisa’s books before this afternoon, so I’m going off to download Lisa’s ‘Redemption Road’ – and then I’ll have to wait patiently for Denise’s next book!  It’s going to be a non-fiction look at Peter Manuel, the infamous  serial killer who terrorised the Glasgow area in the late 1950s, and it promises to be a gripping read.

File 03-09-2016, 20 51 48